Lindenhurst Memorial Library

Research

Most of our databases can be found on live-brary.com, however the Lindenhurst Memorial Library does have some exclusive databases for our Lindenhurst Library cardholders.

Those exclusive databases are listed below:


Adult Learning

 

Brainfuse Adult Learning Center

Access to adult learning services including GED prep, 24/7 writing lab, live tutoring, career resources, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more.

 

Northstar Digital Literacy

Northstar Digital Literacy helps you define basic skills needed to perform tasks on computers and online. Online, self-guided modules assess the ability of individuals to perform tasks based on these skills. Included are basic computer digital literacy standards and modules in three main areas:

  • Essential Computer Skills – Basic Computer Skills, Internet Basics, Using Email, Windows OS, Mac OS
  • Essential Software Skills – Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Google Docs
  • Using Technology in Daily Life – Social Media, Information Literacy, Career Search Skills, Supporting K-12 Distance Learning, Your Digital Footprint.

Business & Law

 

Reference Solutions*

The premier source for business and residential information for reference and research. In Library Link.


Career

 

JobNow

Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques. Experience personalized career center seamlessly integrated with advanced virtual technology to help job seekers of diverse backgrounds and needs.


Car Repair

 

Auto Repair Source

Provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls and more. In Library Link

 


Consumer Reviews

 

Consumer Reports

Full text access to the online text version of Consumer Reports.

 


Culinary

AtoZ World Food

With thousands of global recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba!


Genealogy

 

Ancestry Library Edition(IN LIBRARY USE ONLY)

Ancestry is an essential tool for your genealogy research. Search through census and other historical records, publications, stories, photos, maps and more.

 

Genealogy from Livebrary

Discover your family roots with the help of these resources.


Health & Medicine

 

211 Long Island Database

Provides website vistors with detailed information on over 10,000 community resources for help and assistance in a range of areas.

 

New York State Physician Profile

This database makes it possible for New York residents to get information about physicians including: the doctor’s medical education, and information about legal actions.

 

 


Language Learning

Bluebird

The Bluebird App features 12 million prerecorded lessons, personalized courses, quizzes, daily lessons and more for learning 163 languages. Available in a browser-based app, and in a mobile app through Google Play and the App Store. It is recommended that you first register or access the browser-based app before logging into the mobile apps (iOS or Android).

Pronunciator
Using Pronunciator you can learn any language, in virtually any other language. Plus, they have ESL for speakers of 50 non-English languages! Each language course has a minimum of 1,500 phrases to learn, and most have 10,000 phrases.


Magazines & Newspapers

 

Flipster

Free digital magazines! Download the app and use your library card to access! Access leading digital magazines on your mobile device with Flipster, the digital magazine newsstand from EBSCO – courtesy of your local library.

 

Lindenhurst Star: Digital Archive

The Lindenhurst Star, published between 1927 and 1958 focused on the daily life of Lindenhurst and its residents. Included in this publication are news stories, birth and death announcements, and local features that depicted the current events around town. The Lindenhurst Memorial Library is the only known archive of The Lindenhurst Star. Thanks to a grant, we digitized our archive to provide unprecedented access to this slice of Lindenhurst history.  

 

Newspaper Archive

Access to historic and current newspapers from Livebrary.com.


Science

 

Science Online

Contains proprietary book and journal articles, images and videos, topic-specific timelines, tables and charts, and diagrams that provide a thorough grounding in all areas of the science curriculum. Science Online also features more than 1,600 science experiments and activities. These include downloadable, printable experiments in PDF format.  In Library Link


Students

 

Brainfuse

On demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning includes: homework help, 24-Hour Writing Lab, and live tutors in math, science, reading/writing, social studies, PSAT/SAT, ACT, AP and state standardized tests.

CultureGrams

Fosters understanding and appreciation of the world’s countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content. Today the CultureGrams series is one of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference and curriculum products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas. In Library Link.

 

TumbleBooks

TumbleBookLibrary is a database of children’s e-books, and includes unique animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, national geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish.

 

World Book

World Book Online Reference is your source for electronic encyclopedia, dictionary and atlas entries; as well as educator tools and resources.


Veterans

VetNow

Connect with an expert to learn more about eligible VA benefits and community resources.

  • Hours


    Monday-Thursday: 9:00am-9:00pm
    Friday: 9:00am-6:00pm
    Saturday: 9:00am-5:00pm
    Sunday: CLOSED
    Scheduled Closings

  • Get in touch

    Call Us: (631) 957-7755

    Department Contacts
  • Find us

    1 Lee Avenue
    Lindenhurst, NY 11757

Skip to toolbar